Skip Navigation
 kriegerDepartment of Biophysics
Search Biophysics JHU

Thomas C. Jenkins
Department of Biophysics
110 Jenkins Hall
3400 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21218

Dr. Bertrand Garcia-Moreno E.
Department Chair

410-516-7245 phone
410-516-4118 fax

Undergraduate Awards and Honors

Martin G. Larrabee Award

This award, established in honor of Martin G. Larrabee, Professor of Biophysics, is open to seniors for meritorious undergraduate research in biophysics. The role of the Larrabee award is to honor examples of good writing about good science. Superb science poorly presented will not receive the award nor will superb writing about poor science. Those wishing to be considered must announce their candidacy to the Director of Undergraduate Studies (DUS) and must submit a written paper describing their research using the guidelines detailed in the Honors paper below.

Ete Z. Szüts Undergraduate Research Travel Award

This award, named in honor of a PhD graduate student from this department, will provide funds for up to 80% of the transportation costs of undergraduate research students in biophysics to attend a scholarly meeting. A member of the Biophysics Dept. faculty who will be at the same meeting must sponsor recipients.

Honors in Biophysics

To be eligible for departmental honors at graduation, biophysics majors must achieve an overall GPA of 3.5 or higher. In addition, a paper based on their mandatory six lab research credits must be submitted and be acceptable to the student’s research supervisor and research sponsor. To qualify, students must complete the Honors Checklist for biophysics, and have it approved by their faculty advisor and the DUS coordinator (Dr. Karen Fleming) by late March. Specific dates will be sent to graduating seniors in February of each year. Click here for Honors Papers Guidelines.


© The Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved.