Skip Navigation
|||
 kriegerDepartment of Biophysics
Search Biophysics JHU

Thomas C. Jenkins
Department of Biophysics
110 Jenkins Hall
3400 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21218

Dr. Bertrand Garcia-Moreno E.
Department Chair

410-516-7245 phone
410-516-4118 fax

Faculty and Research

The primary faculty in the T.C. Jenkins Department of Biophysics have deep expertise in the application of thermodynamics and kinetics, NMR spectroscopy, X-ray crystallography and computational methods to examine the function and structural and physical properties of proteins and nucleic acids.

Primary Faculty


 

Doug Barrick
Professor
216 Jenkins Hall
barrick@jhu.edu

Stability and folding of modular proteins, structure and sequenceanalysis of protein evolution, protein-protein interactions in signaling pathways    More>

Barrick Group

 

Greg Bowman
Associate Professor
302 Jenkins Hall
gdbowman@jhu.edu

Structural biology of molecular machines involved in nucleosome remodeling    More>

Bowman Group

 

Richard Cone
Professor
320 Jenkins Hall
cone@jhu.edu

Mucosal protection by antibodies    More>

Cone Group

 

Ana Damjanovic
Associate Research Scientist
004 Greenhouse
ad@jhu.edu

Computational studies of protein structure, dynamics and function    More>

 

Karen Fleming
Professor
410 Jenkins Hall
karen.fleming@jhu.edu

Membrane protein folding, thermodynamics of protein-protein interactions in membranes, membrane protein modeling    More>

Fleming Group

 

Patrick Fleming
Senior Lecturer
105 Jenkins Hall
pat.fleming@jhu.edu

Computational Biology and Bioinformatics    More>

 

Bertrand García-Moreno
Professor and Chair
002 Jenkins Hall
bertrand@jhu.edu

Experimental and computational studies of protein electrostatics, structure-based energy calculations, ligand-driven conformational transitions    More>

García-Moreno Group

 

Taekjip Ha
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor
Jenkins Hall
tjha@jhu.edu

Single Molecule Biophysics  More>

 

Margaret Johnson
Assistant Professor
Jenkins Hall
margaret.johnson@jhu.edu

Theoretical and computational modeling of protein interactions at the cellular scale  More>

Johnson Group

 

Juliette Lecomte
Professor and Director of the Program in Molecular Biophysics
116 Jenkins Hall
juliette@jhu.edu

Structure and dynamics of proteins in solution by NMR spectroscopy    More>

Lecomte Group

 

Sua Myong
Associate Professor
121A Mergenthaler Hall
smyong1@jhu.edu

Quantitative analysis of gene expression in single molecule and single cell   More>

 

Elijah Roberts
Assistant Professor
110 Jenkins Hall
eroberts@jhu.edu

Investigating the creation and use of in silico cell models    More>

Roberts Group

 

George Rose
Professor
202 Jenkins Hall
grose@jhu.edu

Theoretical approaches to protein and RNA folding    More>

Rose Lab

 

Sarah Woodson
Professor
402 Jenkins Hall
swoodson@jhu.edu

Folding and dynamics of RNA and RNA-protein complexes    More>

Woodson Group

Secondary Appointed Faculty


 

Ludwig Brand
Professor, Biology, A&S
224 Mudd Hall
ludwig.brand@jhu.edu

Protein-ligand interactions, fluorescence spectroscopy ofmacromolecular complexes    More>

 

Ernesto Freire
Professor, Biology, A&S
114 Mudd Hall
ef@jhu.edu

Structure-based thermodynamics of molecular recognition and function    More>

 

Vince Hilser
Professor & Chair, Biology, A&S
117A Biology East
ef@jhu.edu

Conformational Fluctuations and Intrinsic Disorder in Allosteric Signaling, Disease, and Evolution    More>

 

P.C. Huang
Joint Appointed
Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, SPH
615 N. Wolfe Street, W8509
pchuang@jhsph.edu

Bioinformatics, genomics and proteomics    More>

 

Evangelos Moudrianakis
Professor, Biology, A&S
35 Mudd Hall
vanm@jhu.edu

Chromatin structure and function    More>

 

Peter Privalov
Professor, Biology, A&S
121 Mudd Hall
privalov@jhu.edu

Thermodynamics of protein folding    More>

 

Robert Schleif
Professor, Biology, A&S
schleif@jhu.edu

Mechanism of protein function, particularly regulatory proteins, using genetic, biochemical, biophysical, and computational methods    More>

 

Craig Townsend
Professor, Chemistry, A&S
252 Remsen Hall
ctownsend@jhu.edu

Natural product chemistry, enzymology and molecular biology, fatty acid synthase inhibitors for cancer, tuberculosis and obesity    More>
  
 

Beverly Wendland
Professor, Biology & James B. Knapp Dean, A&S
36B Levi Hall
bwendland@jhu.edu

Endocytosis regulates cell physiology and homeostasis by affecting nutrient uptake, signal transduction, and the population of receptors in the plasma membrane    More>

 

© The Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved.